We Love Words, Strange As They Are

This is a list of words we find strange, peculiar, interesting, have ridiculous spellings, or that we simply find worthy enough to bring attention to. Nothing more, nothing less.
~ Tuesday, January 1 ~
Permalink

Penultimate

adj. - last but one in a series of things; second last

Tags: p adjective
~ Monday, December 31 ~
Permalink

Inkling

n. - a slight knowledge or suspicion; a hint

Tags: i noun
~ Wednesday, December 26 ~
Permalink

Profligate

adj. - recklessly extravagant or wasteful in the use of resources

Tags: P Adjective
4 notes
~ Sunday, December 23 ~
Permalink

Halcyon

adj. - denoting a period of time in the past that was idyllically happy and peaceful

Tags: h adjective
2 notes
~ Friday, November 30 ~
Permalink

Eclectic

adj. - deriving ideas, style, or taste from a broad and diverse range of sources.

Tags: adjective e
1 note
~ Thursday, November 29 ~
Permalink

Lackadaisical

adj. - lacking enthusiasm and determination; carelessly lazy.

Tags: adjective l
4 notes
~ Wednesday, November 28 ~
Permalink

Maudlin

adj. - self-pityingly or tearfully sentimental, often through drunkenness.

Tags: adjective m
4 notes
~ Monday, April 30 ~
Permalink

Prat

n. - primarily a British term whose literal meaning is buttocks, but is more often used as a slang insult meaning: ass or fool; a stupid or foolish person.

Tags: noun p
~ Monday, April 16 ~
Permalink

Anoint

v. - to choose by or as if by divine intervention

Tags: a verb
2 notes
~ Monday, April 2 ~
Permalink

Pariah

n. - A person without status. A rejected member of society. An outcast.

Tags: noun p
1 note